Duplicate accounts can appear when existing account connections are altered, such as when a financial institution changes the way they name accounts in their system, or when a lost or stolen credit card is replaced. When the account is relayed to the tools under a different name or identity than in the past, it is created as a new account. This type of duplication can be fixed by merging the accounts to ensure all data is retained.
To merge duplicate accounts:
- Determine which account is the original. It should have a longer transaction history than the new account.
- In the Account Details view of the original account, click the menu icon on the top right and select Mark as Duplicate from the dropdown.
- Select the duplicate account from the list of accounts that appears. A message will appear warning you that merging two accounts into one can’t be undone.
- Click Merge.
- Type the word “MERGE” (in capital letters) and click Confirm to complete the process.
Warning: Merging accounts can't be undone.
To learn more about the Accounts tool, watch the quick clip here.
Disclaimer: The functionality of this software varies depending on which financial institution you use. Not all content in this help center will apply to your experience.